Faculty & Staff

Wim F.A. Steelant, PhD
Dean of the School of Science, Technology & Engineering Management
Associate Professor of Chemistry
Faculty member since 2011
PhD, University of Amsterdam; MS, West-Brabant College; BS, Saint-Lieven College

Carnival Cruise Lines Building, Room 119
Phone: 305-474-6853
Fax: 305-628-6706
wsteelant@stu.edu
Rev. Alfred Cioffi Biology Schools Professor Rev. Alfred Cioffi, SThD, PhD
Associate Dean
Blue Cross – Blue Shield Endowed Chair in Bioethics
Assistant Professor of Biology and Bioethics
Faculty since 2009
PhD, Purdue University; SThD, Pontifical Gregorian University; MDiv, St. Vincent de Paul Regional Seminary; BS, Florida International University

Carnival Cruise Lines Building, Room 124
Phone: 305-474-6968
Fax: 305-628-6706
acioffi@stu.edu


 
  Faculty
John Abdirkin, MD Pre-Med Programs Professor John Abdirkin, MD
Professor of Biology
Faculty member since 1996
MD, University of Bologna; BS, Syracuse University
 
Carnival Cruise Lines Building, Room 123
Phone: 305-628-6503
Fax: 305-628-6706
jabdirkin@stu.edu
Edward A. Ajhar, PhD
Associate Professor of Physics
Faculty member since 2004
PhD, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; MM, The University of Arizona; SB, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Carnival Cruise Lines Building, Room 121
Phone: 305-628-6720
Fax: 305-628-6706
ajhar@stu.edu
Luis Fernandez-Torres, PhD Pre-Med Programs Professor  Luis Fernandez-Torres, PhD
Assistant Professor of Chemistry
Faculty member since 2012
PhD, University of Houston; MS, University of Puerto Rico–Mayagüez; BS, Pennsylvania State University

Dooner Hall, Room 200B
Phone: 305-474-6014
Fax: 305-628-6706
flernandez-torres@stu.edu
Yanhui Guo, PhD
Assistant Professor of Natural Science, Math, Computer Science
Faculty member since 2013
PhD, Utah State University; MS, Harbin Institute of Technology; BS, Zhengzhou University

Dooner Hall, Room 200C
Phone: 305-474-6015
Fax: 305-628-6706
yguo@stu.edu 
Edmundo Hart, EdD
Assistant Professor of Mathematics
Faculty Member since 1982
EdD, Nova University; MS Chem. Eng., University of Havana

Carnival Cruise Lines Building, Room 116
Phone: 305-628-6571
Fax: 305-628-6706
ehart@stu.edu
Minchul Kang, PhD
Assistant Professor Mathematics
Faculty member since 2013
PhD, University of Minnesota; MS, University of Minnesota; BS, Korea University

Dooner Hall, Room 200A
Phone: 305-474-6013
Fax: 305-628-6706
mkang@stu.edu
Pilar Maul, PhD Biology Schools Professor Pilar Maul, PhD
Associate Professor of Biology
Faculty member since 2007
PhD, Florida Institute of Technology; MS, Louisiana State University; BS, National Agrarian University

Carnival Cruise Lines Building, Room 122
Phone: 305-628-6603
Fax: 305-628-6706
pmaul@stu.edu 
Maria Pina, PhD
Assistant Professor, Chemistry since 2010
PhD, State University of Moscow
MS, BS, Havana University, Cuba

Dooner Hall, 200-E
Phone: 305-474-6024
Fax: 305-628-6706
mpina@stu.edu 
Jeffery Alan Plunkett, PhD Pre-Med Programs Jeffery Alan Plunkett, PhD
Associate Professor of Biology
Faculty member since 2002
PhD,Georgia State University; BA, Miami University

Carnival Cruise Lines Building, Room 125
Phone: 305-628-6572
Fax: 305-628-6706
jplunkett@stu.edu
David Quesada, PhD
Associate Professor of Physics
Faculty member since 2002
PhD, University of Havana; MS, Moscow State University

Carnival Cruise Lines Building, Room 115
Phone: 305-474-6910
Fax: 305-628-6575
dquesada@stu.edu
Severine Van Slambrouck, PhD and Pre-Med Programs Severine Van Slambrouck, PhD
Assistant Professor of Chemistry and  Pharm D
Faculty member since 2012 
PhD, New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology; MS, BS Ghent University

Carnival Cruise Lines Building, Room 214
Phone: 305 474-6005
Fax: 305-628-6706
svanslambrouck@stu.edu
Alberto J. Varela, PhD
Associate Professor of Physics
Faculty member since 1999
PhD, Complutense University of Madrid; BS, Havana University

Carnival Cruise Lines Building, Room 114
Phone: 305-628-6595
Fax: 305-628-6706
avarela@stu.edu 
Adrienne L. Vynne, EdD
Professor of Computer & Information Sciences
Faculty member since 1983
EdD, Nova Southeastern University; MS, University of Miami; BS, Cornell University; BA, University of North Carolina

Carnival Cruise Lines Building, Room 118
Phone: 305-628-6569
Fax: 305-628-6706
avynne@stu.edu 
Lu Wang, PhD
Assistant Professor of Computer Science
Faculty member since 2009
PhD, Florida International University; BS, Zhejiang University 

Carnival Cruise Lines Building, Room 117
Phone: 305-628-6985
Fax: 305-628-6706
lwang@stu.edu 

   
  Adjunct Faculty

Karon Kell Anderson, MS
Adjunct Faculty since 2001
MS, University of Miami; BA, St. Thomas University

Carnival Cruise Line Building, Room 111
Phone: 305-628-6760
Fax: 305-628-6706
kanderson@stu.edu 
Richard Chang, PhD
Adjunct, Natural Science, Math, Computer Science
Adjunct faculty since 2013
MS, University of Guam; BS, University of Chicago

Carnival Cruise Line Building, Room 111
Fax: 305-628-6706
rchang@stu.edu
Kelli L. McDonald, MS
Adjunct faculty since 2008
MS, Florida Atlantic University; BS, University of Central Florida

Carnival Cruise Lines Building, Room 111
Phone: 305-628-6760
Fax: 305-628-6706
klmcdonald@stu.edu
Alexis Tapanes-Castillo, PhD Research University Professor Alexis Tapanes-Castillo, PhD
Research Assistant Professor of Biology
Faculty member since 2009
PhD, Cornell University, BS, University of Miami

Carnival Cruise Lines Building, Room 214
Phone: 305-474-6538
Fax: 305-628-6706
atapanes-castillo@stu.edu  


  Administration
Rudy Ibarra, P.E.
Chief Information Officer since 2005
M.S., Florida International University; B.S., Florida International University
Dooner Hall, Room 110

Phone: 305-628-6633
Fax: 305-628-6706
ribarra@stu.edu


  Staff 
Omar Cardentey
Recruitment / Student Services

Carnival Cruise Lines Building, Room 110-B
Phone: 305-474-6854
Fax: 305-628-6706
ocardentey@stu.edu

Marcela Jaramillo, BS
Laboratory Director
BS, St. Thomas University
 
Carnival Cruise Lines Building, Room 205
Phone: 305-474-6905
Fax: 305-628-6706
mjaramillo@stu.edu
Debora McVey
Administrative Assistant

Carnival Cruise Lines Building, Room 120
Phone: 305-628-6760
Fax: 305-628-6706
dmcvey@stu.edu
Pia Marsh, MIB
STEM Coordinator
MIB, St. Thomas University; BA, Florida Atlantic University

Carnival Cruise Lines Building, Room 110-B
Phone: 305-628-6574
Fax: 305-628-6706
pmarsh@stu.edu