International Moot Court

Law School Miami International Moot Court

The St. Thomas International Moot Court (IMC) is an honors organization focused on the study and application of international law. IMC offers students the opportunity to participate in the International Moot Court Program where they represent the Law school in student based legal competitions around the world, while obtaining course credit. Participants have the opportunity to take part in simulated court proceeding, which involves drafting briefs, also known as memorials, and oral arguments. During competitions, students argue various international law issues and work with other future attorneys from different countries, cultures and legal systems. The program is comprised of two courses: International Law and Research & Brief Writing; and participation in one international moot court competition.

Each year, IMC sends teams of law students to participate in the following distinguished competitions:

Phillip C. Jessup International Law Moot Court Competition. Recognized around the world as the largest and most prestigious international moot court competition, this competition has participants from over 500 law schools in more than 80 countries. We are proud to announce that our St. Thomas Team won rounds against Duke, LSU, and others.

Manfred Lachs Space Law Moot Court Competition. Organized in 1992, by the U.S. Members of the International Institute of Space Law, students participating in this competition gain valuable and enjoyable experience in international mooting while debating and analyzing important issues of international space law. Ever wonder who negotiates the contracts that allow satellites to be sent into outer space? This competition does truly allow a student to gain an international perspective.

The St. Thomas IMC is also host to the Susan J. Ferrell Competition, an annual event with participants from universities throughout US and abroad.

If you have any further questions, or would like to join IMC, please visit our Membership Information page, contact us at, or contact any of the executive board members.


Faculty Advisor(s)

Professor Susan Warheit
Professor Dr. iur. Siegfried Wiessner
Professor Roy Balleste
Professor Marvin Klein