Work Study

The Work Study Program provides funds that are earned through part-time employment to assist students with educational expenses while gaining valuable work experience. The work study program encourages employment in community service and in fields related to your major of study. Job positions can be either on-campus or off-campus. Most off-campus positions will be at private nonprofit agencies or public agencies and will be in the public interest.

If you are awarded Work Study (WS), whether it is Federal Work Study (FWS) or St. Thomas Work Study (STU), the amount shown in your award letter is the total amount of money you may expect to earn during the award period as a result of work performed. If you are accepting the award, you will receive an email which will include your Work Study packet, the link to our online training, and the Mandatory Training form. Failure to complete and submit the required forms by the deadline given, will result in the cancellation of your WS award. To maintain eligibility for WS, students must be enrolled full-time and maintain satisfactory academic progress. WS students may work up to 7 hours a day with a half hour lunch break and a maximum of 15 hours per week.

Students who were not awarded Work Study and wish to be added to the wait list, please click here and complete the Work Study Wait List Form that corresponds to the academic year you are interested in to be considered.


Work Study Student Responsibilities
  • Students are responsible for completion of the following paperwork before commencing employment: Employment Application, I-9 (for INS), New Employee Data Form, W4, and Mandatory Training Completion form. Failure to complete these documents will result in time sheets not being processed for payment. All students, whether new or returning, must complete these forms.
  • Students are responsible for submitting his/her time sheet each pay period to WebAdvisor according to the established timesheet schedule. Failure to do this will result in a paycheck not being issued until the next pay date based upon further approval.
  • Student employees may not work more than seven (7) hours a day with a half lunch hour break and fifteen (15) hours per week.
  • Students may not work during university holidays, and may not work in more than one department during the same pay period.
  • Student employees must not work during scheduled class times.
  • Student employees must maintain a satisfactory academic standing according to University policy.
  • Student employees must be enrolled in at least a part-time basis (6 credit hours) during the Fall and Spring semesters, and at least three (3) credit hours in the Summer semester.
Work Study Positions

Please contact the appropriate person below to inquire about available positions within a specific department:

Department 

Contact Person

Number

Email

Academic Enhancement

Maritza Rivera

305-628-6797

mrivera@stu.edu

Athletics

Laura Courtley-Todd

305-628-6677

lcourtle@stu.edu

Biscayne College

Pam Cingel

305-628-6650

pcingel@stu.edu

Business Management

Stephanie Maynard-Patrick

305-628-6540

smaynard-patrick@stu.edu

Campus Ministry

Claudia Herrera

305-628-6515

cherrera7@stu.edu

Career Services

Cristina Lopez

305-628-6577

cclopez@stu.edu

Center for Community Engagement

Anthony Vinciguerra

305-628-6717

avinciguerra@stu.edu

Cyber Security

Gurvirender Tejay

305-474-6818

gtejay@stu.edu

Financial Affairs

Jackie Fonseca

305-474-6980

Jfonseca2@stu.edu

Financial Aid 

Lilybeth Perdomo

305-474-6960

lperdomo@stu.edu

Graduate Student/ Enrollment Management

Eilleen Morales

305-474-6869

emorales9@stu.edu

Gus Machado School of Business

Evelyn Calama-Sosa

305-628-6528

ecalama-sosa@stu.edu

Health Services 

Gianni Basoa

305-628-6695

gbasoa@stu.edu

Human Resources

Lenore Prado

305-628-6517

lprado@stu.edu

Inst. For Education

Cary Trujillo

305-474-6859

ctrujillo@stu.edu

International Student Affairs

Jerry Debe

305-628-6687

jdebe@stu.edu

Intramurals 

Crystal Morvant

305-628-6558

cmorvant@stu.edu

LAW SCHOOL - Office of Student Affairs

Catherine Hayes Cohen

305-6232391

chayes@stu.edu

Law School Library

Jonathan Coleman

305-474-2428

joncoleman@stu.edu

Mail/Duplicating

Mark Rogers

305-628-6545

mrogers@stu.edu

Marketing

Erin Ayrim

305-474-6048

bayrim@stu.edu

Office of Records

Ana Marrero

305-474-6950

amarrero2@stu.edu

OIT

Gabriella Bongiovanni

305-628-6708

gbongiovanni@stu.edu

Provost Office

Carmen Barbeis

305-628-6674

cbarberis@stu.edu

School of Science

Alexis Tapanes-Castillo

305-474-6905

atapanes-castillo@stu.edu

Student Affairs

Richard McNab

305-474-6869

rmcnab@stu.edu

Student Succes Center

Richard Pulido

305-474-6932

rpulido@stu.edu

University Admissions

Camila Alcala

305-474-6809

calcala@stu.edu

University Advancement

Lorena Hidalgo

305-628-6660

lhidalgo@stu.edu

University Library

Gretel La Guardia

305-474-6862

glaguardia@stu.edu

America Reads

America Reads is a collaborative project designed to tutor children in reading in the community. America Reads tutors are St. Thomas University students who are part of the federal work study program. Tutoring takes place at a variety of locations, including local schools and community recreation centers. For additional Information, please contact the work study coordinator at the Office of Financial Aid.

Descriptions of Job Categories

Clerical Duties (1): Clerical duties generally include typing, filing, data entry, customer service, answering phone, and running errands.

Lab/Staff Assistant (2): Some training is required to perform and assist staff members in setting up lab equipment or workshops as well as helping students in the lab.

Manual Labor (3): Manual labor requires indoor/outdoor physical work and may include some maintenance and/or setup of the department's equipment.

Tutoring/Research Assistant (4): Tutors must be highly proficient in a subject to share their knowledge and skills as well as supervise other students in learning labs. Research assistants meet with faculty for training, use Excel/SPSS (for data entry & surveys), and conduct library searches.

Community Service (5): Community Services are designed to improve the quality of life for community residents. On/Off Campus job is required

America Reads Tutors (6): Tutors will work 15 hours a week. They will tutor a limited number of elementary students and provide one-on-one, individualized reading tutoring sessions several times a week. Tutoring takes place during regular school hours or after school.

Work Study Pay Rates

Pay rates are based on grade level from the beginning of the academic year.

Academic Level Regular Work Study (per hour) America Reads (per hour)
Freshmen (0-29 Credits) $8.25 $10.50
Sophmores (30-59 Credits) $8.50 $11.00
Juniors & Seniors (60-120 Credits) $9.00 $11.50

If you are awarded Work Study (WS), whether it is Federal Work Study (FWS) or St. Thomas Work Study (STU), the amount shown in your award letter is the total amount of money you may expect to earn during the award period as a result of work performed. If you are accepting the award, you will receive an email which will include your Work Study packet, the link to our online training, and the Mandatory Training form. Failure to complete and submit the required forms by the deadline given will result in the cancellation of your WS award. To maintain eligibility for WS, students must be enrolled full-time and maintain satisfactory academic progress. WS students may work up to 7 hours a day with a half hour lunch break and a maximum of 15 hours per week.


Work Study Student Training

Work Study Supervisor Training