Tax Law Society

The Tax Law Society is one of the fastest growing student organizations on the St. Thomas Law campus. The Tax Law Society is comprised of students who have displayed a passion for tax law and other related issues of law. Our goal is to promote and achieve excellence in the field of taxation, by offering students the opportunity to learn and network with the best professors and tax attorneys in the area.

The graduates of the St. Thomas Law tax program are regularly accepted to the top 4 Master of Law in Taxation programs. The top institutions include the New York University Graduate Tax Program, Georgetown University Graduate Tax Program, Northwestern Pritzker School of Law Graduate Tax Program, University of Florida Levin, and University of Miami Graduate Tax Program.

We currently have a total of twelve 2022 graduates pursuing their LL.M. at either Northwestern Pritzker School of Law, Georgetown University Law Center, University of Florida Levin College of Law, and the University of Miami School of Law. Our graduates can be found practicing all over the United States in major law firms, as sole practitioners, accounting firms, multi-national corporations, directors of low-income taxpayer clinics and in academia.

The Tax Law Society, in conjunction with the Internal Revenue Service (IRS), provides income tax preparation services through the Volunteer Income Tax Assistance (VITA) program.

For more information about VITA, please visit the VITA at STU page.

Board Members

Sara LeFever, President (slefever2@stu.edu)
Quinn Coolidge, Vice President of Internal Affairs (qcoolidge@stu.edu)
Taylor Congleton, Assistant to Vice President of Internal Affairs (tcongleton@stu.edu)
George Izquierdo, Vice President of External Affairs (gizquierdo2@stu.edu)
Lindsay Dunkley, Assistant to Vice President of External Affairs (ldunkley@stu.edu)
Max Toubiana, Treasurer (mtoubiana@stu.edu)
Frank Casals, Assistant to Treasurer (fcasals2@stu.edu)
Sam Bazylenko, Secretary (sbazylenko@stu.edu)

Faculty/Staff Advisor

Professor Mark J Wolff, Faculty Advisor