Connect with us

President Armstrong Joins Orange Bowl Committee

President David A. Armstrong has been named as a member of the Orange Bowl Committee (OBC). Armstrong was formally introduced as a committee member at the September monthly meeting of the OBC on Sept. 11.

Armstrong will play an integral role in the Committee’s continued commitment to the South Florida community, including upcoming events such as hosting the College Football Playoff Semifinal at the Capital One Orange Bowl on Dec. 29, 2018; the 25th annual MetroPCS Orange Bowl Basketball Classic on December 22, 2018; and numerous other sporting events and community activities throughout South Florida.

“I’ve always admired the work of the Orange Bowl Committee, and I am excited and honored to be joining such a prestigious organization,” said Armstrong. “As a former athlete, I know firsthand the impact sports has on the youth and the community. And, that is why it is so humbling to be part of a committee that not only supports organizations and events benefiting numerous charities, but encourages South Florida youth, education, and sports.”

The Orange Bowl is a 360-member, primarily-volunteer non-profit sports organization that promotes and serves the South Florida community. With its primary mission since being created in 1935 to bring tourism to South Florida through an annual football game and events, it has also maintained a legacy of charitable contributions and community outreach.

“We are excited to welcome President Armstrong to the Orange Bowl Committee and welcome him to the South Florida community,” said Sean Pittman, president and chair of the Orange Bowl Committee. “His background in education and athletics fits perfectly with the Orange Bowl’s mission, and we look forward to his future contributions.”

Armstrong, who recently announce the launch of STU football and marching band, kicked off his first year STU in August 2018, becoming the University’s 10th president. Armstrong comes to St. Thomas University from Thomas More College, a Catholic liberal arts school belonging to the Diocese of Covington, Kentucky, where he was been president since 2013.

Marlen Lebish

Author Marlen Lebish

More posts by Marlen Lebish